Top 5 Books of 2016

Top 5 books of 2016

Please note that this list includes books that I read in 2016 regardless of the year they were first published in. I will not be reviewing these books on this post considering these are my top 5 picks of the year, I will provide their Goodreads description. This post also contains a few spoiler free quotes that I like, from the books, to make it more interesting. I hope you enjoy!

> The Call – Peadar O’ Guilin

The Call by Peadar O GuilinImagine a world where you might disappear any minute, only to find yourself alone in a grey sickly land, with more horrors in it than you would ever wish to know about. And then you hear a horn and you know that whoever lives in this hell has got your scent and the hunt has already begun.

Could you survive the Call?

Even though you know deep down in your heart that she doesn’t stand a chance, you can’t help but root for her.

From the back of the book:

“3 Minutes
You wake up alone in a horrible land.
A horn sounds. The Call has begun.

2 Minutes
The Sidhe are close. They’re the most beautiful and terrible people you’ve ever seen.
And they’ve seen you.

1 Minute
Nessa will be called soon.
No one thinks she has any chance to survive.
But’s she’s going to prove them wrong.

TIME’S UP
Could you survive the call?”

Quotes:

She says, “I’m going to live. And nobody’s going to stop me.” She believes every word of it.
‘Listen,’ he says, ‘we don’t need the Sidhe to teach us evil. We were the ones who put them in the Grey Land, remember? And not just for a day or however long it is the Call lasts. We Irish… we trapped an entire race of people in hell for all eternity, just so we could take their homes for ourselves.

 

> The Sky is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson

The Sky is Everywhere Jandy NelsonSeventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Quotes:

if you’re someone who knows the worst thing can happen at any time, aren’t you also someone who knows the best thing can happen at any time too?
All her knowledge is gone now. Everything she ever learned, or heard, or saw. Her particular way of looking at Hamlet or daisies or thinking about love, all her private intricate thoughts, her inconsequential secret musings – they’re gone too. I heard this expression once: Each time someone dies, a library burns. I’m watching it burn right to the ground.
You can tell your story any way you damn well please. It’s your solo.

> A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J Mass (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)

A Court Of Mist And Fury - Sarah J MassIf you have not read the first book:

A Court of Thorns and Roses

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

 

If you have read the first book:

A Court of Mist and Fury

Quotes:

When you spend so long trapped in darkness, Lucien, you find that the darkness begins to stare back.
I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal.
I was a survivor, and I was strong.
I would not be weak, or helpless again
I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.
To the stars who listen—and the dreams that are answered.

> Crown of Midnight – Sarah J Mass (Throne of Glass #2)

Crown of midnight throne of glass Sarah J Mass

If you have not read the first book:

Throne of Glass

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

If you have read the first book:

Crown of Midnight

Quotes:

The best lies were always mixed with truth.
But death was her curse and her gift, and death had been her good friend these long, long years.
But he had no idea what sort of darkness lurked inside her, or what sort of monster she was willing to become in order to make things right.

> Clockwork Princess – Cassandra Clare (The Infernal Devices #3)

Clockwork Princess The Infernal Devices Cassandra Clare

If you have not read the first book:

Clockwork Angel

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Timesbestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

If you have read the first two books:

Clockwork Princess

Quotes:

Life is a book and there are a thousand pages I have not yet read.
Men may be stronger, but it is women who endure.
Do not seek revenge and call it justice.

Did we miss your favorite book? Let us know in the comments section!

Spread the love:

  • nitin7

    Nice list, what were the worst books you read in 2016?

  • Divya Jyoti

    Very interesting

  • Anshul Shokeen

    Ah. Books 😍.!
    I’ll too read all of them soon.
    Keep up the good work👍👍
    P.s. nice reviews.

  • Wow!! You finally read Infernal Devices! xD 💜

    I haven’t read the other books. But Sarah J. Mass would be next on my list.